My trip to the beach

We were in the car and when we got close to our destination I realized that we were going to the beach since we saw beach houses.  I remembered that they were beach houses because one of the special memories that I had with my Dad I wrote about in second grade and I drew the picture of the beach house. My little brother screamed “The beach? The beach! Huhhhhhhh!”

When we got to the beach parking lot I asked, “What are we doing here?”  Mom said, “To take a walk.” We got out of the car. Mom left the water bottles in the car. We started to walk towards Bass Beach not the beach we go to.

 

 

 

 

 

 

When we walked I decided to find special rocks for souvenirs. I decided to take a picture on the first bench that I saw and I waved at truck and the truck waved back, honked, and smiled back at me. After seeing the truck, I found my first rock. It was very thin and it was really smooth. It was special because the truck hit the rock at the bench that I was sitting on to remind me of what happened.

 

 

 

 

 

 

We started walking again. A teenager drove by and yelled a bad word at us. Me and my mom talked about why it was a bad word. I told Jacob if he understood the word to never say it. I pretended to walk into the next sign pole that was there and then I pretended to walk into the guardrail.

My Mom saw surfers at Bass Beach and thought they were ducks.  They were like two miles away from us. Then I saw two actual ducks and I thought that the surfers were too big to be ducks. Then I saw a rock that looked like it was from Mars. My brother was really disappointed that he did not see any rocks that looked like it was from Mars. Then we walked across a really long rock pile. My Mom said it used to be higher and longer until the Nor’easter of 2019 caused damage along the ocean.  I saw a white house and kept saying “hey Jacob it’s The White House!”

 

 

 

 

 

 

We tried to take a picture to put on the background of my computer with the waves crashing behind us but it did not work many times.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then my Mom made a comment that the waves coming back into the ocean sounded like fireworks.  She was right. Then we saw Katherine’s Mom running. We saw a private property sign but the sidewalk wasn’t private property that was what my Mom said. Then we saw little blue hand and feet prints on the private property cement. Then I decided how far we would walk.  First it was the second closest flag that was an Ireland flag. Then it was a grey building that all we could see what a rectangle with a flat roof.  When we got near the surfers we saw they took a bus.  The no parking sign had a lot of graffiti stickers on it and you could barely read no parking. We walked all the way to Rye.  We saw four dogs in Rye. The next beach that we saw was one that had a petrified log.  The waves were crashing there. I saw a Mars rock that Jacob wanted.  Mom said I might get wet.  I walked slowly because I didn’t want to get hurt. I had to be in front of the log and got it. If I had stayed in there for ten more seconds I would’ve got soaked. My brother was “Yes! Yes! Yes! Yeah! Yeah! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yeah! YeahYes! Yes! Yes! Yeah! Yeah! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yeah! YeahYes! Yes! Yes! Yeah! Yeah! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yeah! Yeah!” He went crazy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When we got to the grey house I saw that the name was Tower House.  We walked to where the sidewalk ends.  I remembered the book Where the Sidewalk Ends. We saw a note made out of rocks.  It said “BE WELL.” We made a heart made out of rocks. Inside the heart we put four rocks for Mom, Dad, Jacob, and me. On the way out we stopped and made some cairns. On our way back I asked “How many houses did we walk by?” We had a discussion on how the numbers changed with the town lines. Every time we saw people we stayed 6 feet apart, aka social distancing. Jacob and I made up words for the Adams Family song.  We annoyed my Mom by singing the Jeopardy theme song over and over and over and over, etc.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On the way back I realized how hungry I was.  I asked my Mom “Why did you not bring snacks?” She said it was because we were screaming and she thought we were going to get hurt. One of the last pictures we took we acted like we were dead on a rock because we were soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo hungry!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When we were at the car Mom was taking really fun pictures. Mom said we were gone for 3 1/2 hours but it felt like 10 minutes.  When we were in the car we took one final picture and I really wanted to drive over to Hampton Beach but we were sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo hungry! I felt like I was going to explode!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

At home we we mapped it out out to see how long it was.  Our walk was 4.3 miles long.  I thought it would be longer.  I felt that we walked much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much longer!

 

3 thoughts on “My trip to the beach

  1. Hi Justin,
    What wonderful description of every part of your EPIC walk. I love how thoughtfully you described each part and showed us the whole trip.
    I like how the truck driver honked at you. I like how you collected rocks as memories. You collected sounds and sights and had important conversations about doing what is right and caring for others. Your description of being starved and the way you took a photograph showing you were dying of starvation made me laugh out loud. Thank you for taking the time to create a post to share all of your wonderful day.

    I wonder where you were on the blog yesterday. I was worried about you, but now I know you were on a grand adventure!
    Keep on being awesome!
    🐚🙌🏼Mrs. Eaves

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *